News Detail

Band finishes year with recognition and awards

RE band director Jon Hamm recognized graduating band members and presented two major end-of-year music awards during a lively and fun concert at the Lewis Family Auditorium April 20. Flutist Lena Zide '23 received the Bill Pender Distinguished Service Award and French horn player Leah Maduro '23 earned the Leonard Bernstein Musicianship Award as the symphonic band, jazz combos and guitar ensemble performed for the last time in 2021-22 at the RE Band SJG Spring Concert.

Photo Gallery
Hamm noted that two additional awards will be presented during the Upper School Awards Ceremony on April 28. He also thanked parents for supporting their children in 2021-22, and recognized each senior by name, announcing Wirth Munroe '22, Kati Ortega '22, Nathan Knight '22, Aidan Rothstein '22, Boris Bialer '22, Adam Chopp '22, Andy O'Brien '22, Felipe de Cardenas '22, Lefty Howland '22, David Dubovy '22, Mario Cruz '22, Lucas Jolivert '22, Max Vallone '22 and Shang Wang '22.

"Students are not required to take this class; they have options, and most of them are easier," Hamm said. "They are choosing to do this, and in our world today, it's more important than ever that we give students some great options in music."

Hamm encouraged everyone to sing along during the guitar ensemble's performance of the theme from the old television show, Batman; the night concluded with the playing of RE's alma mater, "Rise Up for Old RE."

RE Guitar Ensemble
Luc Arellano ’25
Sophia Bonafonte ’24
Tea Delic ’24
Olivia Drulard ’23
Isabel Chong ’24
Finn Falk ’25
Kaitlyn Gonzalez ’24
Tyira Jackson ’24
Jordan James ’25
Victor Labaut ’24
Lucas Lippey ’25
Wirth Munroe ’22
Kati Ortega ’22
Ava Rothstein ’25
Eric Wilson ’24

Ransom Combo
Miguel Arango ’24, Leader, trumpet
Isabel Chong ’24, alto sax, drums
Varun Raju ’24, alto sax
William Malone ’24, valve trombone, Latin percussion
Paloma Lopes ’25, piano vibes
Santi Sauceda ’24, Musical Director, piano
Nathan Knight ’22 bass, guitar
Aidan Rothstein ’22, guitar

RE Combo
Martin Piedrahita ’24, trumpet
Ari Bennett, ’24, tenor sax
Max Vallone ’22, Musical Director, piano
Boris Bialer ’22, bass
Max Bast ’23, drums
Adam Chopp ’22, Leader, guitar

RE Combined Symphonic Band
Lena Zide ’23 
Isabel Chong ’24
Santi Sauceda ’24
Emilia Awad ’26

Santi Sauceda ’24

Boris Bialer ’22

Rogelio Munoz-Franco ’23
Andy O’Brien ’22 
Chase Dubovy ’25

Alto Saxophone
Isabel Chong ’24
David Luan ’25
Varun Raju ’24

Tenor Saxophone
Felipe de Cardenas ’22
Ari Bennett ’24 

Baritone Saxophone
Lefty Howland ’22 

Miguel Arango ’24 
Martin Piedrahita ’24
Eleonora Cavallini ’23
Nico Sosa ’23
Nicky Goldberg ’23
John Devaney ’23
Max Wolfe ’23
Andrew Gedde ’25
Hudson Kaplan ’25

French Horn
Leah Maduro ’23
David Dubovy ’22
Sebastian Daire ’23
Hudson Kaplan ’25

Mario Cruz ’22
Lucas Jolivert ’22
William Malone ’24

Christian Sosa ’23

String Bass
Max Vallone ’22 

Max Bast ’23
Shang Wang ’22
Max Vallone ’22
Adam Chopp ’22 
Nathan Knight ’22
Aidan Rothstein ’22
Paloma Lopes ’25

Jon Alex Hamm, Director

Photo Gallery
Founded in 1903, Ransom Everglades School is a coeducational, college preparatory day school for grades 6 - 12 located on two campuses in Coconut Grove, Florida. Ransom Everglades School produces graduates who "believe that they are in the world not so much for what they can get out of it as for what they can put into it." The school provides rigorous college preparation that promotes the student's sense of identity, community, personal integrity and values for a productive and satisfying life, and prepares the student to lead and to contribute to society.